Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Our e-newsletter delivers news and updates right to your email inbox.

Please click here to read past editions of our newsletters
Donate to DRM

Please consider making a tax-deductible donation to DRM. Each and every dollar donated makes a difference to individuals in Montana with disabilities.

 

Do You Think it Is a Good Idea for Montana to Join the Rest of the Nation and Provide Special Education Past Age 18?

Then SUPPORT HB 274 by contacting the House Education Committee members listed below.

The hearing on January 30, 2017, went very well.  Make sure that the members of the House Education Committee hear from you about support for HB 274. They will be voting soon in executive session whether to send it to the House floor with a "do pass," or do not. All interested parties are urged to provide input either through public testimony, calls, letters, faxes, or through the legislative online message system.

Sponsored by Rep. Kathy Kelker, this bill entitled “Allow ANB funding for students with disabilities up to age 22" would allow students with disabilities who have not reached 22 years of age by September 10 of the school year and have not yet met graduation requirements, to be included in the calculation of the average number belonging (ANB) in a school district for purposes of their funding.

Montana is an outlier. This has cost Montana in various ways, as Congress now sets policy and appropriations based upon the assumption that all states provide special education services past age 18. Making this change is a good idea and will support real and successful transitions of students with disabilities into meaningful employment. 

All interested parties are urged to provide input either through public testimony, calls, letters, faxes, or through the legislative online message system.

Individual contact with a legislator on that committee if they represent your region is really important.  You can click on the Committee members' names below for the link to their contact information.

House Education Committee Members:  
Seth Berglee (R), HD 58, Chair Email: Rep.Seth.Berglee@mt.gov Phone: 406-690-0340
Jeff Essmann (R), HD 54, Vice Chair Email: jessmann@mt.gov Phone: 406-534-3345
Moffie Funk (D), HD 82, Vice Chair Email: Rep.Moffie.Funk@mt.gov Phone: 406-461-6785
Fred Anderson (R), HD 20, Member Send an Online Message by clicking here Phone: 406-761-4042 / 406-868-3815
Jacob Bachmeier (D), HD 28, Member Send an Online Message by clicking here
Becky Beard (R), HD 80, Member Email: becky4hd80@blackfoot.net Phone: 406-479-3048
Bryce Bennett (D), HD 91, Member Email: bennettforhouse@gmail.com  Phone: 406-546-3629
Amanda Curtis (D), HD 74, Member Email: Amanda@amandaformontana.com Phone: 406-782-4149 / 406-533-9300
Edward Greef (R), HD 88, Member Email: edgreef@hotmail.com Phone: 406-370-0581 / 406-370-0580
Greg Hertz (R), HD 12, Member Email: greghertz11@gmail.com Phone: 406-253-9505
Jean Price (D), HD 24, Member Email: jeanbigskybigwin@gmail.com Phone: 406-452-9315
Casey Schreiner (D), HD 26, Member Email: Rep.Csey.Schreiner@mt.gov Phone: 406-565-0372
Lola Sheldon-Galloway (R), HD 22, Member Email: Rep.Lola.Sheldon-Galloway@mt.gov Phone: 406-727-4963
Scott Staffanson (R), HD 35, Member Phone: 406-480-0467 / 406-798-3354
Sue Vinton (R), HD 56, Member Email: Rep.Sue.Vinton@mt.gov Phone: 406-855-2625 / 406-248-1984
Peggy Webb (R), HD 43, Member Email: Webb4house@gmail.com Phone: 406-248-1953
Susan Webber (D), HD 16, Member Email: Rep.Susan.Webber@mt.gov Phone: 406-338-2159 / 406-450-1894